The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: First ever

I confess that I did not confess last week. It was the first time since its inception that the Friday Afternoon Confessional did not appear. I confess that normally I would have posted at least some kind of cheap placeholder, but I did not, because it just didn’t seem worth the bother.

Now that the chain has been broken, I confess that I feel free to retire as a confessor. Previously, I had kept things going simply because of the fact that there had never been a Confessional-free Friday — even though it was becoming an empty ritual that, to be perfectly honest, probably didn’t make much sense in the first place.

My co-bloggers should feel free to continue the tradition if desired. (All the front-page posters have administrator rights and are thus able to add users.)

February 17, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

10 Comments

  1. I confess that I miss the old Weblog with its list of hated things on the sidebar. I confess that it feels like the Weblog is on its last leg.

    Comment by Jon | February 17, 2012

  2. At least we’ll always have Adam’s Shared Items. Those are never going away.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | February 17, 2012

  3. I confess this feels sweet and sour. Sweet because Adam feels free. Sour because I’ll continue to post cheap placeholders.

    Comment by Guido Nius | February 17, 2012

  4. I confess we’re thinking of cancelling cable once the current television season is over. All we watch over the summer is “Game of Thrones” and “True Blood,” which can be downloaded the next day (sometimes the same day) in high definition, which is better quality than we get with cable because we don’t pay the high definition premium.

    I confess I would have posted yesterday if not for spending much of the day in the hospital to confirm what I already knew before going there: that I have pneumonia. The intern must be commended for effectively attempting to rule out every single possible allergy before admitting the obvious. He was also kind of creepy–like the sort of person who volunteers for the campus safe walk so he can be near girls. For a rural hospital, I was impressed with the number of murses on staff.

    An observation: obese and overweight people are routinely accused of costing excess health care dollars. The only overweight people I saw yesterday were us and the woman in the next “room.” She wasn’t there for herself, but for her husband who injured himself at the harbour (note: not a real harbour; a place where people park their recreational boats). I wasn’t there for a fat related condition. All of the other people who were there were for “old people” conditions or “clumsy worker” conditions. Like the skinny ancient diabetic who got an infected limb “in San Jose or maybe it was Costa Rica I don’t know” or the guy next to me who fell at the harbour or the old man who was brought in unconscious from the seniors residence with a catheter stuck in his cock. Put the blame where it belongs: on old people. Us fatties are sick of being blamed.

    Comment by Craig | February 17, 2012

  5. I confess I would be willing to take over FAC responsibilities. I further confess I fear that might really be a coup d’etat (or is it coup de grace? I (confess I) suck at French) on the site, though.

    After reading Craig’s comment, I confess I find it tiresome how quickly we blame everybody for everything that befalls them (“fatties” are his example). I suspect we do it to convince ourselves we’re following a path that will not lead us to the same place, but I think it pollutes the way we see the world and ourselves. Sure, many people are to blame for much of what happens to them – probably even the vast majority – but is it so important to always point it out?

    I confess some of these thoughts are borne from having just visited my aunt in the hospital. She was on a ventilator because she has Parkinson’s and it’s taken away her ability to eat or drink food normally and is now robbing her of the ability to even breathe easily. I’m sure somebody somewhere thinks she did something to bring it on herself, but as I stood in her room and as I passed all the other patients in the other hospital beds, the last thing it seemed these people should have placed on them is blame.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | February 17, 2012

  6. Well, Matt, once we were at the hospital–no walk in clinic out here, so ER it is for everything–the guy in the next “room” had an infection on his arm. You see, he had been out hunting (deer season), got a tick in his arm and left it there for a few days. He then tried to pull it out with his fingers, which just causes the bug-equivalent-of-a-torso to rip off from the head. He was content with this situation and waited a few more days when he discovered that it was still there and it looked infected. While I freely admit that not everyone knows how to remove a tick (having dogs, I do), I’m pretty sure he is partly to blame for his situation. Sometimes, like Forrest Gump says, stupid is as stupid does and he did stupid.

    Your aunt, on the other hand, or the old man with a catheter stuck in his cock likely aren’t to blame for their situations. As for my pneumonia, I blame some anonymous undergrad and jackass at the grocery store–or both.

    Comment by Craig | February 17, 2012

  7. I confess that I thought of Matt as a possible replacement when writing the post, so it’s good to see him say the same thing unprompted.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | February 17, 2012

  8. I confess I feel a tiny bit obligated since so many of my comments exceed the length of the original posts, which I’ve always feared is some sort of breech of blogging etiquette. But I’d be happy to do it. I need all these little side projects to distract me from the writing I should be doing.

    Comment by Matt in Toledo | February 17, 2012

  9. A TV confession: We’ve never seen anything involving Louis C.K. Although many people who post and comment here have suggested he is hilarious, we found his guest spot on “Parks and Recreation” last night to singularly and uniformly unfunny in the extreme. Perhaps it was the character. Perhaps it was the writing. Who knows. All I know is that he was Seinfeld unfunny and we find Seinfeld even less funny than Rob Schneidner or Ray Romanow.

    Comment by Craig | February 17, 2012

  10. I confess that even though this seemed pretty much inevitable, it still makes me sad. Aw, man, Adam, I’ma miss you.

    Comment by jms | February 17, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

