The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: All over the place

I confess in a previous confession I said I was following the Trayvon Martin case pretty closely. When the national petitions were first circulating and it seemed as if the case might just be left alone without a further look, I was intrigued by the story. Now that all that is rolling out is friends and family of both sides dishing on this or that reason why somebody is or isn’t at fault, I have no interest in it anymore.

I confess to always wondering about the etiquette of winning the lottery. Is it insulting to just give friends and family enough money to where they never have to worry about money again? If you were to do that, is it going to be implied you’re saying “Here’s some money; don’t ever ask again”? Should you hold on to the money and make it clear that you’re available if they ever have an idea that requires some financial backing? Doesn’t everybody have an idea that requires financial backing? I’ve tried to bring this up with people before just as a quirky conversational piece and without fail, they look at me like I’m insane and say they don’t think I’ll have to worry about it. I’m not worried about it; I’d just like to be prepared. They’ll wish they had given it some thought when they eventually win and they’re completely unprepared for how to handle the expectations of their loved ones.

I confess it is probably excessive for me to worry about what I’d do with my lottery winnings since I never play.

I confess the internet circles I run in have been talking about atheism a lot lately. There’s obviously AUFS, but the online cartoon strip, The Oatmeal, also brought it up the other day. I usually like The Oatmeal, but I can see where Adam gets bored with these kind of ideas. I’m not too concerned with whether god exists or not, but I’ve always tried to be respectful of where people stand on the issue and am pretty equally tired with how either “side” tries to convince the other. I will say I believe in God enough to where if it exists, I owe it a Coke when we meet.

March 30, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

3 Comments

  1. I confess that the unifying theme of this week has been footwear. First, I wore the new brown shoes I mentioned last week, and this brought me great pleasure — I confess (and this is one of those rare unambiguous “confessions!”) that I stole glances under the table at my beautiful new shoes. Second, frustrated with the tendency of my dress shoes to come untied constantly, I did some internet research that led me to this black hole of morbid fascination. Truly, that site has definitively solved the shoelace problem once and for all!

    I confess that I revamped my shoelace technique, and my laces have not come untied even a single time. I confess that I tried altering both the initial knot (i.e., when you first cross the shoelaces) and the finishing knot (i.e., the loopy part), and I’ve concluded that it’s more practical to alter the first, as the website says. I confess that I shared this knowledge with a colleague of mine, whose shoes were tragically tied in a Granny Knot even as we spoke!

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | March 30, 2012

  2. I confess that in fourth grade, I learned that my Hebrew school was going to have an assembly that afternoon about the Holocaust, and I spent the day thinking it had to do with the price of braided egg bread.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | March 30, 2012

  3. I confess that when I hated anti-hoodism this was inspired by Trayvon Martin although I know almost nothing about the case except that his hoodedness was an element in it.

    I further confess that my relative inactivity on the internet is not bugging me at all.

    Comment by Guido Nius | March 31, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

