The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Good Friday edition

It seems appropriate to be doing a confession on Good Friday. However, since it is Easter weekend and the weekend of my niece’s birthday, I’m heading out of town very shortly. I confess that as I type I should be getting the dogs’ stuff ready for the trip rather than doing fakey confessions. Yet, you witness the strength of my devotion to cleansing my eternal internet soul.

I confess if somebody would’ve asked me what the significance of yesterday was, 100 times out of 100 I would’ve said it was Opening Day for the Tigers rather than realizing it was Holy Thursday. Was it also Maundy Thursday? I keep hearing that term this week after not hearing it once in 13 years of Catholic school.

How about you, good readers? What would you like to confess so that you can enjoy your Easter ham with a soul as clean as your Sunday Best?

April 6, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

3 Comments

  1. I confess that I didn’t have much enthusiasm for hosting a seder this year, even though Passover is my favorite holiday and in past years I have compiled very elaborate mixes of hagadot and put my friends through heavy discussions in advance of the brisket. (The metaphorical brisket. I remain a “pescatarian.”)

    Comment by Josh K-sky | April 6, 2012

  2. I confess I have holidays now and that I will spend them with The Family by the beach in an all-inclusive way.

    Comment by Guido Nius | April 6, 2012

  3. I feel like “Maundy” is more the Anglican term, whereas Catholics just go for good old “Holy Thursday.” I may be wrong about that, however.

    I confess that I made an idiot of myself yesterday by interjecting into a debate that had nothing to do with me. I confess that this led to a near record-breaking traffic day on AUFS — had we actually set a new record, I think I would have been overwhelmed with shame.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | April 6, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

