The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional:

I confess to some anxiety about running in a half-marathon this weekend. The last time I tried one, I ended up in the hospital with severe dehydration and damage to my kidneys. With a proper night’s sleep, better preparation and appropriate dress, a repeat should be avoidable but there was a considerable length of time after my last attempt (before I was told what the hell was going on) where I thought I was going to die. That’s a tough memory to shake, even if it was exaggerated.

A little anxiety is added by the fact that I’ll be running with my brother, who is legally blind but has decent “straight-forward” vision. He’s run far more than I have, including a full marathon on the same day of my half-marathon failure, so I’m sure he’ll be fine. But the race starts at 7 am and it’s supposed to be overcast and his vision is worst in poor lighting, so there could be times where it’s dicey. I’m hoping my plan of just getting in front of him and letting him follow me when lighting sucks or when it’s too crowded is sufficient to allow him to avoid injury or incident. To be clear, though, I’m very happy to have somebody to run with this time.

I confess to being mystified by the fact that on the same day I’m running my race, people will be running a full marathon. I’m pretty sure the thought that comes to mind when I cross the finish line will not be “I bet I could do that again.”

I confess to thinking the whole “today is the anniversary of [x event]” is overdone.

April 20, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

4 Comments

  1. I confess that in light of the meteor shower tonight, I thought a low-flying plane overhead was the sound of an approaching (killer, life-incinerating) comet. I confess that thereafter I thought it would be a good idea to somehow be sedated forever to avoid such mistakes of perception. I confess this is also my actual flight-anxiety strategy.

    Comment by ~ (@plsbequietpls) | April 22, 2012

  2. I confess I never understood the desire of people to run. I do hope Matt clinches this one though.

    Comment by Guido Nius | April 22, 2012

  3. For those who might be curious, my brother and I knocked it out in a hair under 1:54. Not quite our goal time, but my secondary goal was to finish in the upper half of my age group and that one was accomplished. Thanks Guido.

    Comment by mattintoledo | April 23, 2012

  4. Bravo!

    Comment by Guido Nius | April 23, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

