The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Busyness and business

I confess my guilt and disappointment in myself at not being able to post last week probably far outweighs how much anybody cared about the same.

I confess I thought there were a lot of articles yesterday about how white babies make up less than fifty percent of the babies born in the U.S. I know this is news because it could have a profound effect on the way the country is run. But I can’t help but think when I see these headlines that some of the intent is to shock those who are reading them.

I confess I went to an economic development seminar today geared toward efforts you – or at least economic development officials – can make to attract businesses to your community. The political “slant” at these types of meetings is vastly, vastly different from when I attend community development conferences and seminars. Because of this, I always end up wanting to throw in some counterpoints to the idea that we need to cause as little “obstruction” as possible to the siting of businesses or corporations. Doing so, however, would be a) socially awkward, b) likely embarassing as I suspect those I’d be arguing with would have access to statistics and data I could not match, and c) potentially damaging to the community for which I work and my own position with said community.

May 18, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

1 Comment

  1. I confess I cared.

    Comment by Guido Nius | May 20, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

