The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: A vacation from sins

I confess I enjoy being on vacation a lot more than a normal week in my life. I confess to using the “I’m just trying to recover from having been gone a week” excuse a time or two too many at work this week.

I confess that while I was on vacation, I was walking through downtown Boulder and a kid with a clipboard asked me if I supported Planned Parenthood. I knew he was going to ask me to sign a petition or ask me to listen to a quick spiel about why I should donate money or something. Much to my wife’s chagrin, I’m usually pretty patient with people doing these sorts of things and allow myself to get tangled up in these kind of interactions for too long.

On this day, though, I didn’t really want the hassle and when he asked me if I supported Planned Parenthood, what came out was “Yes, but not today.” What I meant to say was something more like, “Yes, but I’m not looking for this kind of discussion right now” or something to that effect and I couldn’t help but give the kid a sheepish grin when I realized how goofy what I said sounded. He chuckled a bit and said he understood what I meant and wished us a good day.

I confess his way of handling that situation is more likely to get me to write a check to that organization than anything he could have said in whatever presentation he wanted to show me.

Finally, I confess to going to a local restaurant and asking the hostess to not sit us in a particular server’s area. This particular server we were avoiding isn’t rude or even incompetent. He’s just addicted to small talk and cornball humor and we simply couldn’t bear it on that day.

June 22, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

4 Comments

  1. I confess I don’t know a lot about bra’s, not even how to pluralize them. I confess that it would be good to have Thursday & Wednesday come back in the original or another person.

    Comment by Guido Nius | June 23, 2012

  2. An old professor and I are talking about a 2666 reading group. I was thinking about hosting it here and inviting him to write. Might take a day for that, or even go outside the day structure. I confess.

    Comment by k-sky | June 23, 2012

  3. Josh, I think that is a great idea. I confess I read 2666 and liked it a lot. The professor can take Sunday if that works out best for her or him. I confess I will provide the odd annoying comment.

    Comment by Guido Nius | June 24, 2012

  4. Thanks. I would love to attract odd, annoying comments! We’ll probably start it up in a couple of weeks.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | June 26, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

