The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Enough with the hot

I confess I can be a lot more environmentally conscious in the winter than I can in the summer. In the winter, I’m fine with keeping the thermostat down around 62 or 64 and throwing on a sweatshirt. In the summer, it’s set at 72 or 74 and I just burn my carbon credits from the winter, refusing to bump it up. I simply cannot handle the house being hot and stuffy, especially when I’m trying to sleep.

I confess the first episode of season three of Louie was perhaps a little too melancholy for me. How do I know it’s a great show, though? At the end, I had a feeling of disappointment about the show, but immediately realized I liked the standup bit at the beginning, the joke about parking signs being unintelligible, the big reveal of his ex-wife and when he was talking to the motorcycle salesman. I confess I almost spoiled the ex-wife joke for people who DVRd it just so I felt like I had something real to confess.

I confess this week’s New Yorker cover struck me as a little harsh. It shows a man mowing a little lawn that he has carved out of the forest. I assume it’s a statement about the Colorado fires and people living in places they were never meant to be, but it just seems like a pretty callous time for the criticism. I won’t be too hard on them, though, because every time fires get out of control or a landslide wipes somebody’s house out I think to myself that it’s probably a sign the house(s) shouldn’t have been where it was. I confess I don’t have similar feelings about homes damaged by earthquake, tornado or hurricane and I haven’t given too much thought to whether this position is reasonable or a failure in logic.

What about you, reader? Did the ridiculous fucking heat make you do anything you’d rather not have done and would like to talk about?

June 29, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

6 Comments

  1. a heat wave over here too
    it’s a pity that two my comments seem got lost due to a fictional email i forgot to change which i use elsewhere to avoid blocking, well, there was not much to confess there anyway i guess

    Comment by read | June 29, 2012

  2. I confess I feel like matt is asuming too quickly everybody is in heat. Over here we have experienced one single plus 30° day. I do confess that was the worst day in a long time for me.

    I further confess that whilst it seems extremely likely that The Weblog is not experiencing its best times, it is probable it is not yet experiencing its worst yet. I feel specifically bad for missing Tuesday on Thursday for no other reason than the heat knocking me out on the day both The Eldest Son and The Daughter passed their exams, an event which is exactly 100% better than expected. The Eldest Son apparently – after adding hematologist, cardiologist and neurologist to his already impressive list of -ologists – suffered most of the academic year of latent hyperventilation, a condition I was fully unaware of until the neurologist stuck two needles in him to provoke an actual attack. We should all compliment him as life has not been too kind on him in his first 16 and a half years. Notwithstanding this he has been kind to everybody and this knowing full well that at that age an eye is met with an eye, a tooth with a tooth but kindness with ridicule.

    I finally confess I wanted to confess a lot more but my laptop is reacting as slow to my keyboard as most co-workers to my ideas. So I’ll just finish in saying that I have been invited to a baseball game end July in Dallas. I would like to go but I fear the heat. Tell me, matt, that it will be worth it (and that the toilets are clean and plenty because for such events I’m forever fearful that I will have to go but am constrained to stay).

    Comment by Guido Nius | June 30, 2012

  3. “The Weblog is not experiencing its best times,”
    i thought i scared off all the regulars over here, but when i took some absent time all of them seemed to disappear too, so that was not me, i guess, but that AK moved completely to aufs and got invested there too professionally, here it was his graduate student’s years procrastination site only perhaps, at first the other site seemed to me too dry and narrow field, but i enjoy there the psychotherapy and more like pop feeling having posts and people’s reactions to the current political news and events
    so maybe i should try to keep venting off around here as i used to for the last few years, at least one person would benefit from that, me, to have a feeling of some community belonging and it has a comfortable feel to be around a few people, it’s pretty shocking when i express sometimes not very appropriate or too like oversharing comments then see how too many unknown others peruse the site too, but some illusion of communication is necessary maybe too for one to keep commenting
    i wonder what happened to the guy who used to get always pretty harsh rebukes from AK, named brad or craig
    just what is inconvenient i can’t edit myself at my will, so embarrassing errors have to be on there forever, maa if to not reread them i would never know the feeling sure
    “latent hyperventilation” is it like performance anxiety or panic attacks? there are of course medications to recommend that his doctor must be doing, but if the person has the metal teeth fillings that could contribute to the overall neurasthenia, as i recall my own youthful days, bc of the traces of mercury in there, but nowadays i hope it’s not that popular, those filling materials

    Comment by read | June 30, 2012

  4. You’re right Guido. After I posted, I realized both you and maybe Josh were being spared this heat wave. Sorry to hear about your son. I hope with the problem identified they will be able to treat him more successfully.

    As for the baseball game in Dallas, it will likely be closer to 40 C but the bathrooms shouldn’t pose a problem as long as you’re savvy about when you go. The trick is to go when nobody else wants to – i.e. during the action – and not between innings when everybody else goes.

    Is it worth it? I obviously love the game but understand it can be slow. Two ways to handle this. Ask lots of questions of a knowledgeable fan who will be happy to share the subtleties or treat it as an evening out and turn the game into a sort of background noise. A surprising percentage of people who sit near me take the latter approach. I confess I always try to get people to give baseball a try.

    Comment by mattintoledo | June 30, 2012

  5. I used to watch test match cricket so slow isn’t my worry, the chitchat is. My fear is that in one game I won’t be able to grasp the tactics and the finer points of the game so I will be left with only chitchat. I take my sports seriously.

    Comment by Guido Nius | June 30, 2012

  6. If the apparent slow pace of the game isn’t an issue, you should be good. It’s true that you’re unlikely to grasp everything that takes place, but that’s an interesting thing about baseball. I’ve been watching it for over 30 years and it’s fairly common for me to see a play unlike any I’ve ever seen before. But it’s also true that each game follows a basic rhythm that doesn’t really change.

    Every game has pitches that have to work inside or outside the strike zone. Every game has strikeouts, ground outs and fly outs and every game has at least one run scored. What happens in between has infinite possibilities but for the purposes of watching one game it’s pretty simple. I don’t know how large a group you’d be going with, but I’d suspect somebody you’re going with should be able to answer any questions you might have.

    Last season, my wife and I went to a game with a couple we always hang out with. The wife in the other couple knew almost nothing about the game. My wife gave her a breakdown of the basics during the hour drive to the game and she ended up having a blast. Of course, one of the things she was most excited about was all the ballpark food, but people latch on to all sorts of different things.

    One last thought. You said the game was in Dallas, so I assume it would be a Texas Rangers game. If that’s the case, you can take heart in knowing you will be watching what is most likely the best team in the sport. Of course, even the best teams in baseball typically only win 60-65 percent of the time so there’s certainly no guarantee of a win for the home team.

    Comment by mattintoledo | July 2, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

