The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Hungover

I confess I was out until 4:30 in the morning last Saturday. There was a time when this would not warrant a confession, but it’s at most a semi-annual occurence at this point in my adult life.

I confess that I did this when I worked at Barnes & Noble once and went to work at 9:00 the next (really, same) morning. I confess not calling off that day was a terrible idea because I came to the realization that I a) was still drunk and b) was going to come down and have a hangover while still at work. The former could have put my job at risk and the latter was just an awful experience.

I bring this up only because after how tired I was Sunday, thinking back on that day amazes even more. Sure, I got up to go to breakfast but once I returned home I napped off and on until about 4:00 in the afternoon. It took all the determination I could muster to go outside and mow the lawn and even after that fairly groggy Sunday, I was in less than peak form Monday at work. The levels of energy I wasted in my youth are truly staggering.

I confess that I’m amazed at the speed with which a routine can get away from me. I used to write blog posts literally every day, usually more than once. I used to practice my guitar every day-ish. Having given up these nearly every day activities, I find it remarkably hard to re-establish those same routines again. What is it about feeling that you should so something that makes it so difficult to do? The fact that I’ve been able to maintain my running routine suggests the variable is the amount of “want to” attached to that “should”. I confess there are probably too many areas where I could use either more “want” or less “should”.

July 12, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

3 Comments

  1. I confess that after two years of fairly regular drinking fancy cocktails, I have become “allergic” to alcohol. Where once I could pound 7 old fashioneds (UK measurements, I should add– US shots are something like 10ml stronger if I recall correctly) and go to work at 7 the next morning, I am now seized by full two-day hangovers after a mere 3 drinks.

    Comment by ~ (@plsbequietpls) | July 12, 2012

  2. i think i read somewhere that if one feels it’s difficult to start doing something, one can just do some preparatory steps to the work, then have some rest then do the rest and then do not finish it all, just leave a bit which is easy to finish so that to pick up from there the next day or time to get into the working mood and continue that way etc. this seems works for me
    i confess to a weird dream last night inspired by people’s dreams citing from the book, i guess, i’ve been walking through some dark stairs up to the apt, then was to open the door and somebody was as if like following me i felt but at some distance yet, so i managed to find the keyhole and open the door, just the complete darkness in the dream was like startling so i woke up

    Comment by read | July 12, 2012

  3. the dream interpretations say not very nice things, but at least i felt safe and relief after getting in, so maybe it was not that bad a dream

    Comment by read | July 12, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

