The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Thou Shalt Not Steal (my A/C)

My York

The shaken and recovering A/C unit

I confess I’m not thinking about too much today besides the situation surrounding the above picture. It’s a photo of the electrical line to my central air conditioner after somebody tried to steal it last night. I heard a noise some time after midnight, ran to the window, and saw nothing. I’m not sure if the noise was electrical as they severed the line, or the sound of somebody trying to run off with my air conditioner.

Regardless, after I saw no activity outside (and didn’t realize something of ours was the source of the sound) I went to bed. Not five minutes later, my wife and I were awakened by a hissing sound. This time, when I looked out the window, there was what looked like steam spraying all around the unit. I now know it was probably coolant. Still, though, I didn’t see anybody.

Still totally ignorant to the idea that somebody was trying to steal my A/C, I ran downstairs to my basement to make sure whatever had caused the spraying I saw wasn’t causing havoc in my basement. When I saw no sparks, no leaking water, no nothing in the basement, it occurred to me to go shut off the thermostat.

After this, I went outside to see if there was anything that was so obviously wrong that I could see it at night. It turned out there was. The unit was slightly askew, and not entirely on the concrete pad it usually sits on. Even then, vandalism was where my went rather than theft. So I slid the unit back on to the concrete pad and went to bed with visions of four figure repair bills dancing in my head.

This morning, before I left for work, I told my wife I was going to check again in the daylight to see if it was obvious what happened. After having taken this photo and a couple more, it seemed much clearer that this wasn’t just a matter of our air conditioner going kaput.

I confess I realize in the grand scheme of things this isn’t all that big a deal. We’ll either enclose the area where the unit is with a privacy fence or pay to have the unit moved over a few feet so it’s in our existing backyard, screened from public view.

I also confess to a little retroactive fear at the idea that when I went outside last night, I could’ve inadvertently confronted the would-be thief, who wouldn’t necessarily have known our meeting was an accident. This would have probably been bad, as I was wearing nothing but pajama shorts. I assume he would have at least had whatever tool he used to cut that electrical line. Advantage: criminal.

July 20, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

4 Comments

  1. I confess that tomorrow I am hosting my (the?) first-ever “Rap Battle Brunch.” (It’s a beta version with a few friends, but I’m hoping to continue it as a going concern open to more, if not all.)

    Comment by Josh K-sky | July 21, 2012

  2. I wonder what the overlap is of people who attend both brunches and rap battles.

    I confess I removed flippant remarks about insurance claims from the above post because the thief came back and took the rest of our A/C unit Saturday night/Sunday morning, so we will actually be making an insurance claim to replace it.

    Comment by mattintoledo | July 23, 2012

  3. Ugh. Sorry to hear that — hope the insurance doesn’t give you a hard time, and that the weather isn’t too brutal in the meantime.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | July 24, 2012

  4. The weather was pretty brutal – I felt particularly bad for our dogs – but our insurance agent was great. He didn’t so much as raise an eyebrow when he heard that the thief had come back and taken the unit, enabling us to make a claim to have the unit replaced. He just told us to send them the quote.

    Comment by mattintoledo | July 24, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

