The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: I confess you’re pissing me off, God

I confess I wrote this Thursday because I’m not going to be able to be at a computer on Friday. Part of this is work obligations. Part of it is because I’m heading to Detroit to take batting practice at Comerica Park, where the Detroit Tigers play. My ability to do the latter, however, is threatened by rain. I confess the threat of rain, in the middle of a drought, on one of the only days of the summer when I care if it rains, makes me insane.

I confess I fully understand the proper priority I should place on being able to take this batting practice. I understand it doesn’t matter and it’s incredibly whiny to complain about it raining when relief for a drought is far more important than me being able to hit some baseballs. I confess I don’t give a shit about all that perspective right now, though. Since I was four years old, I’ve wanted to be able to either hit or pitch baseballs in a major league setting. Physical ability dictates this sort of thing – paying for the chance to have a batting session when the big league team is out of town – is the closest I’m going to get. So forgive me when I say, “God dammit! You can relieve a drought any other day of the fucking year!”

I confess threats may have been thrown at both God and Mother Nature over this matter. I confess I’m not sure how I can make these more than idle threats, but I’m open to ideas.

I confess I stayed up to watch Conan the other night and Steve Carell was one of the guests. Conan was talking about how everybody says Carell is such a nice guy. Carell’s response was that maybe he’s not such a nice guy. Maybe he’s a sociopath who has observed that “niceness” is what sells. I confess it was impossible not to think of Adam and his book, Why We Love Sociopaths when I heard this. It was especially impossible since I suspect Carell’s Michael Scott character was probably mentioned in Adam’s other book, Awkwardness.

I confess I allowed myself to wonder about the possibility of Carell happening upon Awkwardness because Michael Scott is discussed therein (I’m presuming), liking it, and deciding to read Why We Love Sociopaths when he noticed a second book by the same author. Clearly, there is no simpler explanation for him forming an idea that seems to come right from the pages of Why We Love Sociopaths. Assuming that’s the case, Carell really isn’t that nice a guy since he didn’t give Adam proper credit for the original idea.

August 10, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

15 Comments

  1. I confess that I am rooting for everything in this post. Chiefly, for your batting practice to go off as planned — that sounds thrilling. And (a distant) secondly, for your Carell/Kotsko theory to be correct.

    I further confess that I have to present pages from a new play in a workshop on Sunday, and so far everything I have written has been in free-writing exercises during previous workshop settings. I confess that I know a little bit more about the play than I did before I started, but still way too little to actually have 15 good pages for workshop.

    I even further confess that there is a rude comment hanging in the queue for the Tuesday Hatred of Word Nerds. If any other administrator else thinks it’s worth passing through, be my guest, but I don’t see any percentage in it.

    I confess to the sin of pride, in re my Tuesday Hatred getting a bunch of hits and a mention from one of Andrew Sullivan’s guest bloggers.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | August 10, 2012

  2. I confess I am jalous. I further confess that these holidays have been shit, made me feel about as average as I arguably actually literally am.

    Comment by Guido Nius | August 11, 2012

  3. ooh, i confess i am disillusioned in AK, he deleted my comment on aufs on death, maybe it should have been strictly on reading time and being, i am convinced i won’t be welcome there, well, it’s his professional site i understand and he’s very guarded about that
    maa, being me stubborn sp/m i’ll post the comment here, however stupid it sounds

    “one always lives and dies at the same time, red blood cells life span is about 120 days, cells die and regenerate until one is too old or ill for that process to be normal, then the whole body dies and the brain activity stops – death occurs on some higher, individual level, well, if one was productive during one’s life, one leaves some material evidence that existed, progeny or work, so in a sense continues to exist too, if one chooses to not leave anything behind then the real death gets accomplished, maybe
    so fb saying death is necessary and always is there is very correct imo, just death occurring now or in the future seem not very different things, just a matter of time lived, whether its actual, possible or potential seem very that, not mattering at all, surely, it’s possible, will be actual and is not even potential, but just inevitable for all, but maybe it seems so just because i don’t know how to engage in philosophical debates where those distinctions very much matter perhaps, so i shouldn’t conflate all those deaths together and, surely, i have no idea what _Being and Time_ says about death”

    i see, that the discussion is about dasein, self, being and its death what the book and they discuss, but still the being itself consists of material cells and it leaves some kind of legacy, so my point was valid imo

    Comment by read | August 11, 2012

  4. “And “my” death can never be actualized, because once I’m dead, there’s no “me” anymore”
    your blogposts are very much “you”, you’ll die but they’ll be there forever on the internets, no? it’s your thought process captured there, it’s a valid part of your being, so you are not all that finished and heidegger is still there in his book provoking this kind of debates, so he continues to exist, not in some kind of “soul” amorphous being separate from his material being, but very much material thing itself
    and if my comments are invalid just because it’s “me” who is saying these stupid in your opinion views, then i don’t know these discussions can’t be valid, if exclusive for qualified philosophers only to philosophize about meaningful to only them matters?

    Comment by read | August 11, 2012

  5. I confess to being jealous of David Rakoff today.

    Comment by Josh Malbin | August 11, 2012

  6. this is too disappointing, i confess, one would expect philosophers to be more open-minded and perceptive, if critical, to whoever’s opinions, but they are just like the rest of the general populace, discriminating and censorous
    i know they are trying to do some serious work there in their blogposts, and it’s not a joking matter for them and so on
    well, I am done with it, trying to engage in the discussion on death like a true troll
    “read Says: Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    Saturday, August 11, 2012 at 11:22 am
    – “I’m still not there to experience the moment of “my” death”-
    perhaps you will know the moment for sure, just won’t be able to describe it back to whoever you would want to share the sensation with unless resuscitated http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Near-death_experience
    what if you recall me at that moment, ha, as if like, “i” told you so!”
    since i’ve seen not that many but deaths in my md years and i’ve seen how cells round up and die with the final spark in research, and also contemplated over the years various ways of self-annihilation, just for fun of it, the best way is to freeze out looking at the sunset, i’ll perhaps decide to do just that in some fifty years, i can consider myself a greater expert on death than heidegger i guess, if to not count that he is already dead of course
    if seriously, i just find this way of discussing others’ work as the author x said so and so, meant this or that, uninteresting, too many names to memorize, i know, in the western philosophy, very scholarly, but i wish the discussions were more like that, integrative something, i guess, the other day i’ve been trying to read spinoza, ha-ha! and a few sentences into his, find myself disagreeing, one shouldn’t be afraid perhaps of being silly and sounding silly, that’s the most fun of talking with the dead authors imo, but not with alive bloggers, alas

    Comment by read | August 11, 2012

  7. I confess I think read is right and Adam wrong on the actualizing my death thing. ‘once I’m death there is no “me” anymore.’ is kind of an answer-killing presupposition.

    I also confess that notwithstanding the above I will delete read’s rant comments from any of my threads. Sorry.

    Comment by Guido Nius | August 12, 2012

  8. it’s good for me then that this thread is not yours, or should it be strictly on confessions too, well, all my comments are kinda confessions, but i will welcome any deletions too, surely, there is not that much value in them to want them to be on the web for forever, that’s not important for me, they were actual just as responses to AK which he rejected
    just i wonder what makes my comments so deleteable, and my participation in any discussion so unwelcome, GN, why others are free to say whatever they are to say and i get rejected from wherever, you are not the first one to say me so, what is so unwelcome in the comments, are they too silly sounding or earnest or in some other way unacceptable? it’s not always rants, i mostly try to say what i think on the topic most of the time or is it because it’s me and i am too much out there with my true persona that people perceive me as a troll, then what is objectionable in my persona?
    but i think internets are too much a segregated place, there is not much intermingling between various people, different languages or specialties, genders or just age groups, all try to keep in their safer zone and not venture outside, if they do it’s all not meaning much just thanks and welcome and everything ends there, i don’t see that many outsiders in the blogs i visit and if they visit they are fought so hard, unbelievable how it’s so difficult to break those like invisible barriers
    so if you say to me what is objectionable for you that i’d comment on your threads it will be very nice of you and helpful for me to understand i guess something and don’t worry i won’t comment on your threads when asked so explicitly

    Comment by read | August 12, 2012

  9. If you encounter this reaction often and you are not able to identify what irritates others then I think that’s kind of a clue. Other than that: I am not your teacher, I can only confess I am glad you will not react to my posts.

    Comment by Guido Nius | August 12, 2012

  10. ah, the problem is with me, i know, i know
    continue to be glad, i will not not only react to your posts but also won’t read them, that i think is the reaction you would prefer from me, and that wouldn’t hurt you in anyway, of course, actually i stopped reading them after the first bolano post, just a pity i won’t know how a particular belgian thinks that was a thing as if like pretty interesting to observe
    about teaching, everybody so like to teach something, it’s like amazing why people just wouldn’t be themselves without teaching or not teaching to somebody something and be themselves, much obliged that you won’t be teaching me anything, english grammar is what i am after, mostly

    Comment by read | August 12, 2012

  11. too bad i’ve made three mistakes there so that it doesn’t sound as snappy as i would have liked then, but that is a good thing, maybe i didn’t want it to sound snappy at all, when i am trying to be snappy i do a lot more mistakes
    just it’s strange to think that grammar plays so much role in people’s communications, i don’t complain that you don’t write in my language for example, if you were able to write in it, i would have been all patience myself i imagine, must be writing in not very literary english is perceived such a justifiably irritable thing for people that they reject my comments wherever i go
    because honestly i don’t see what is wrong with me that people don’t like me except my imperfect english, i was explained at various times that i behave like a concern troll, then like an emotional bully, then what else, just a plain troll, then a nationalist or paranoid, and all those times i was just me trying to communicate with people whom i thought were interesting for some reason
    when they try to look down at me, i fight, so that is that, must be then the problem is not with me but with you, i mean those “trolled” people themselves

    Comment by read | August 12, 2012

  12. Aw man, I thought I had hit a chord or at least kicked off a conversation in the comments. Only to find out the lion’s share of the comments are a bitch session about not being able to comment at another site.

    Well, thank you to those who stuck to the FAC conventions. And thanks Josh. We were able to get the BP in (though just barely) and it was thrilling.

    Comment by mattintoledo | August 13, 2012

  13. i thought you’ll be satisfied with my confessions, MiT, but again i am off it seems
    i wonder should i be offended by a bitch session, but maybe not, that’s just an expression naming this kind of comments, not calling me bitch, right?
    and as usually i am moved by moderators’ solidarity and since i value loyalty in friendship, MiT’s reaction seems an expected reaction, just i thought i can claim a portion of your loyalty too, having shared over the years pretty many THs and FACs here

    Comment by read | August 13, 2012

  14. Yay for BP! And read, you are correct — “bitch” is a synonym for “complain.” You are alleged to have been bitching, but not to have been a bitch.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | August 13, 2012

  15. good, i suspected so too, MiT is not a mean person to call me that, i know, thanks, JK

    Comment by read | August 13, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

