The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Turning into a pumpkin

I confess that outside of work I’m going to have a pretty narrow focus for the next couple of weeks. I am running a half-marathon in two weeks and the team I root for in baseball, the Detroit Tigers, is in the playoffs. So until I’ve completed the half-marathon, there’s a pretty good chance when I’m not working or sleeping I’ll be running or watching baseball. Thankfully, my wife is even more insistent on watching baseball than I am. She, for instance, is perfectly OK with saying she will only go out if we go somewhere we can drink beer and watch the game. I appreciate such arrangements but will not insist on them.

I confess I’m kind of addicted to hot caramel apple cider at Tim Horton’s. This admission reminds me that I also enjoy Tim Horton’s pumpkin donuts. I see a lot of complaints about “pumpkin overload” on Twitter, but I embrace our pumpkin overlords. Pumpkin bread is good, especially if you toss in some chocolate chips, and I’ve had some pretty damn good pumpkin beers. In fact, the only thing I’ve encountered that seems to push the limits of the pumpkin craze is pumpkin coffee. Of course, it could have just been a bad pumpkin coffee. There very well may be a pumpkin coffee I’d love.

I confess I didn’t watch the presidential debates because I confess I cannot conceive of one possible reason I’d want to watch the presidential debates. I have no interest in discussing specific politics, but I did notice something interesting about the election here in Toledo. There are a shit ton of issues on the ballot. Most of them seem to be to renew levies for various public facilities and services. I assume it’s a strategic move to get these votes on the same ballot as a presidential election since it will have a better turnout and higher turnout always seems to be good for votes on things like helping libraries, saving museums, funding schools and caring for the mentally ill. How much damage has been done to our cities, states and public institutions because of their pleas for funding coming in an off-election year? I shudder to think.

And now is the time, good reader, when I invite you to share tales of things you did that might make you shudder to remember. If sharing doesn’t help, maybe we’ll discuss it more over a pumpkin beer with a slice of pumpkin pie.

p.c. I confess I think I may have dropped the ball on our Wednesday writing project for this space. I was a little unclear on how it will work, and ended up not doing anything for this reason. Next week, however, I will post something regardless. I will just go with my understanding of what we’re doing and see where it takes us. 

October 5, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

6 Comments

  1. I confess that I enjoyed live-Tweeting the presidential debates, although I confess that I got virtually no response on Twitter. The best response I got was on Facebook, to this post

    I’m guess that code doesn’t work in the comments, so here’s the link.

    I confess that I have started reading in the field of positive psychology. The first book I read was the work of an asshole preaching to assholes. My shrink pushed back on this analysis, but it doesn’t take much “when I got to Harvard, I though everybody would be happy! But Harvard students, even though they’re in the most wonderful place on earth, aren’t happy!” and “What if I told you that happiness could make your workforce 25% more productive” before you know you’re swimming with assholes.

    I further confess that this did not send me screaming from the tarmac entirely, and I am reading a different book about happiness and writing a list of thinks I am grateful for before I go to sleep, which is supposed to have pleasant magical properties. I’m open to it!

    I fucking love pumpkin everything. Except pumpkin spice lattes, but I take my coffee black so it wouldn’t be my thing.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | October 5, 2012

  2. i confess i want to attend one of these talks, http://www.rmanyc.org/happytalk with julianne moore for example, if not too lazy to go to the city, seems like it would be interesting to see a famous person alive so to speak, so completely different parallel lives to live for her and for just regular real life people like me, otherwise all the talk about happiness, i think i know what they would say and yet it’s impossible, happiness, just sometimes one feels it, maybe, lasting a day at best or even less, a few moments of satisfaction with anything, luck, good work, love, so one should strive not for happiness but calmness, tranquility as they say, and that’s true, to not want anything is such a great relief that’s why perhaps all the buddhist countries remained backwards until late, doing nothing much, out of tranquility, excluding of course japan in the modern times, there their shinto shamanism helped to pro-actively and aggressively build their statehood and modernize, or south korea with their adoption of christianity or china now with their communist pragmatism
    i mean this search of happiness is maybe not always a “correct” way to seek in life, bc if truly enlightened it would lead to tranquility and nothing else much, when out of suffering or at least some kind of significant efforts which is mostly painful, some strain, individual or collective, the great deeds are more likely to be, that, achieved, so maybe people should celebrate more their sufferings, since it’s like a more permanent state of mind and more productive, if that productivity is to be valued more, which is valued indeed more, everywhere
    if it could be some kind of joyful strain then that is welcome perhaps of course, something like communist labor was supposed to be, which turned out to be all false and leading to nothing again, but perhaps only satisfaction in one’s work that one likes doing, not just to earn living, though earning a good living is a kind of satisfaction too, so that is maybe the greatest joy what is possible in one’s life, as in that proverb, to built a house, to write a book, good or bad, to have a son (or daughters too, hopefully, but it doesn’t say that) is the purpose of one’s life, seems like all achievable, since i’ve achieved none of these yet so must be do not deserve to be happy or content yet too, for many people those goals are not only achievable but are already the achieved ones, hope they are happy then if it is that simple
    just it’s difficult or for some it’s impossible due to many reasons to find what they love doing and people end up doing what they dislike or what is causing them suffering and a few people who understood what, creative and talented, workaholics of any kind seem all like abnormal, fanatical, sacrificing all for their call, just bc it’s some kind of addiction for them to work, their work giving them that much pleasure just like narcotics for narcomans, so those workaholics can’t be fully perhaps credited for their work cz it’s just their luck to discover their talent, once they stumbled upon their call, all is just some kind of like irresistible instincts, compulsion to carry them to achievements, fame, success, if not successful yet, then still to a high productivity of whatever they are doing through doing what one is obsessed to do
    otoh if one achieves tranquility, then being a hobo wouldn’t seem that bad for self, i guess

    Comment by read | October 5, 2012

  3. oh, i forgot about growing a tree and it’s Steve Jobs looking at me the whole day whenever i open the browser prompted me to comment i guess

    Comment by read | October 5, 2012

  4. There is a good chance I will be out of my well paid job in a matter of months. There is an even better chance that The Wife will be promoted to an even better paid job in those same months.

    I confess I fancy the odds of becoming a nobody whose existence is strictly limited to being a love machine.

    I also confess I was on the look-out on Wednesday. I have no idea how or whether it will work but I am eager to give it a try. Going with the flow is always the best strategy.

    I finally confess to feeling guilty by not making controversial posts that will attract new visitors (or contributors – let alone comments) to The Weblog. Somehow I feel the duty to make up for it, if only to erase Ice T’s wife and daenerys’ nakedness from the top search strings that put surfers onto The Weblog.

    Comment by Guido Nius | October 6, 2012

  5. Sorry to hear about the job situation, Guido. At least being relegated to full-time “love machine” will allow you to bridge any potential gaps on your resume.

    Comment by mattintoledo | October 8, 2012

  6. Thx for slipping in the word ‘potential’ in there.

    Comment by Guido Nius | October 8, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

