The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: No tricks, no treats

I confess to being a bit of a party pooper on Halloween. I have nothing against the holiday, but I also don’t have kids and have no desire to dress in a costume to go to work. My job, after all, frequently requires serious conversations about serious things, and I’d prefer not to have these conversations dressed as Beast Jesus, sexy Gov. Christie or whatever.

I confess my wife and I took it a step further than not dressing up, though. When we realized Tuesday that we didn’t have any candy to pass out, our plan was not to run out to the store to get the five or more bags of candy we’d need to be prepared (our neighborhood gets hundreds of kids). It was to go out for dinner the evening of Halloween and to make sure we were gone until well after the trick or treaters had stopped.

I confess the place we chose to dodge the holiday was Buffalo Wild Wings. You can, after all, hunker down at “B-Dub’s” and play trivia or watch a sporting event and kill two hours easily. Our trip to this purveyor of deep fried chicken wings had two interesting revelations. First, Halloween is an excellent night to go out for dinner because there are no noisy kids in the restaurant. Second, Buffalo Wild Wings was very quick to abandon having nutritional information on their menus.

Allow me to explain. About three months ago was the last time we went there and it was also the first time they had included calorie and nutritional information on their menus. All you had to do was look at the menu once and you knew this was a terrible business decision as their health friendly options were nearly non-existent. After seeing my usual order of wings was well over 1,500 calories, I was in no hurry to go back. That brings us to Wednesday, when we opened our menus to find they had scrubbed the idea of alerting their customers that the food they were about to eat was incredibly bad for them. I confess both my wife and I reacted by saying, “Oh, good, now we can eat whatever we want.”

Finally, I confess my wife and I decided to disconnect our house phone yesterday. We did this after we sat down on the couch to eat dinner and the phone rang three times in our first 15 minutes of relaxation. What about you, good reader? Did you shelter yourself from politics, bad weather and panhandling youth? If so, does it warrant confession?

November 2, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

5 Comments

  1. i confess i’m secluded in my apt and will be for three more days, i can go out of course but w/o car not far, and just have no purpose or any need to go outside except if i had enough coins could do some laundry, maybe should go to the cvs down two blocks and get the coins really, sunny
    what i like about the storm after handling is that people are all calm and friendly, organized, and nothing like any kind of looting is happening anywhere, just gas lines at the gas stations are long and the tree service is working in the neighborhood, so what is lost is just mostly material things that could be restored and some of it was really may be, like, excessive, maybe it’s not too bad to shed some 50 blns every now and then to see that people basically could be without many things bearably well enough, if the wars stimulate economy, natural disasters also would i guess just the same
    just the people who lost their family members are so sorry, there was a story in my twitter feed about a woman who was trying to escape with her two small kids and her car got disabled by the water tide, then she tried to walk out of the car, but lost the kids to the wind and tide out of her hands, so so sorry, i wonder why only she waited so late until the last moment and where was the dad, so unlucky tragic fate to happen to one, and to think that it could happen to anyone and anytime, nobody is as safe as one thinks, and about two young people who got crashed under a tree when they were going out to walk out their dog, too unfortunate too, i wonder whether dogs could be handled like cats inside for some longer time, pets are pets and to sacrifice own life for a pet’s sake, well, i don’t understand many things about different for me culture, maybe that is not a very outstanding thing, just unfortunate circumstances, too bad
    and the people who lost their homes hope will be able to find new homes soon, as they say, with that every end is a new beginning like attitude
    i confess my neighbors are mostly orthodox jewish or indian, so they don’t do halloween i guess, one thing i thought is curious about the jewish people that they never wear any jeans, never saw anyone wearing it, when i and everybody i know or met wear it daily, me, from half the world away, so it’s curious to think about cultural adoptions and resistance so to speak
    little kids and young guys and girls wearing always formal dresses in mostly black look cute and very neat and kinda like touchingly almost always so thin, as if like straight out of the mid-last century fashions

    Comment by read | November 2, 2012

  2. When stories like that woman whose kids drowned arise, what I call “the blame questions” always seem to follow. Where was the father? Why was she there?

    The prevalence of these questions suggests they are natural extensions of reading the story, but what difference does it make? Is the absence of the answer in the news story incomplete journalism or a result of the fact that news has to be presented by human beings who have the good taste not to pry these questions from a grieving mother or her family?

    I don’t mean for this to sound accusatory, but I’m just a little mystified by the fact that every time I read or hear about this story, or countless stories like it, these questions follow. What difference does it make? Do we want to know this woman made poor decisions so we can rest assured we would not be put into a similar situation? What if her husband is a first responder and she had to go back to her house for her kids’ medication or some other perfectly reasonable purpose? If she is “cleared” of all fault in the matter and just a victim of chance is it only then a true tragedy?

    Comment by mattintoledo | November 2, 2012

  3. I confess that I got in a spat of little bitchery on Twitter with a friend who chastised me for jokingly complaining about the cold CA weather as Sandy was landing. I confess that while she was definitely being a pill, I did not then get quite how bad the storm would be.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | November 2, 2012

  4. oh, i am sorry, i never meant sounding accusatory or prying just imagined myself instead of her and how it could be so easy to be out of control of anything, how everything is so really really terribly fragile

    Comment by read | November 2, 2012

  5. I confess that I missed my appointment with Wednesday Workshop. My excuse is The Wife’s 42nd birthday (& yes, I am even older than that) and me having to take care of that and mainly her (because she is ravishing & intelligent and keeps me keeping it more or less together).

    I further confess that my perception of Sandy was of an altogether light nature with a brother-in-law & brother (and family) being in New Jersey (work) and New York (holiday) respectively. As all of them were out of harm’s way, we could focus on their bad luck in having flown all the way out there to be stuck in a hotel room. But the perception changed quickly when I heard of my co-worker who was luckily not hurt but still impacted in a very bad way. One should be very critical of one’s own perception.

    Still, I confess that as a European I cannot see the effects of Sandy without thinking that paying more taxes is sometimes a good thing. Obviously I know it would not magically avoid the storm or its impact but I still think it might have appeased the consequences (and I’m not even mainly talking about electricity here but about the consequences on individuals who have to get back on track).

    PS: I confess that when I put ‘sometimes’ in the last paragraph I didn’t mean it, I think paying more taxes than what people pay in the US is always a good thing.

    Comment by Guido Nius | November 3, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

