The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Our brains are 98% nonsense

I confess to being prone to funks at home where the thought of doing chores around the house seems just unbearable. This isn’t just run-of-the-mill reluctance to vacuum or continue finishing the basement. It’s like the thought of doing these tasks seems about as likely as walking to work (which is a 22-mile commute). It spills over to my creative ventures as well. Just like I think, “I should vacuum this room”, I tell myself, “I should go do that essay I’ve been thinking about” only to follow up that thought with, “That’s not going to happen.”

It’s kind of worrisome, but the good thing is these funks typically last a couple weeks until I get thoroughly sick of being so damn unproductive. Then I go ahead and do the things I’ve been telling myself I should’ve been doing all along and realize they were nowhere near the monumental task I envisioned while procrastinating. Here’s the weird part. I know this is the process even when I’m in the stage of not wanting to do anything. I confess at times I fear it’s a condition approaching depression, but that rings hollow because my general disposition is very positive.

I confess I had a strange dream last night in which people’s key fobs had a brethalyzer built into them. When you hit the unlock button on your key fob, you had to blow into the device to prove to your car you weren’t drunk. If you were drunk, the car gave a very cordial message, “Your car has been disabled until morning. Good night.” Luckily, in the dream I was just curious if I was okay to drive and when the car disabled itself I just handed the keys to my wife, who hadn’t been drinking. It didn’t occur to anyone in the dream, apparently, that this was a pretty gaping flaw in the system. What’s even stranger about the dream was in the dream, we were in a bar playing Go West’s “King of Wishful Thinking” and I woke up this morning with that song stuck in my head. All this was very perplexing, but I confess to loving those first few waking moments where the innovation in a dream seems like the best idea in the world. “This will change everything!” It’s usually, of course, followed by, “Oh, wait. That’s absurd” or “Oh wait, that’s been around for twenty years”.

I confess there is a puzzle game for my iPhone called Flow which I am very much addicted to. It’s not uncommon to get addicted to a game on my phone, but there’s something about the puzzles in this game that seems to line up with my nature or something. I think it’s tapping into my mathematical brain or something because the satisfaction of solving a board is similar to that I used to get when I solved a difficult proof or equation. Finally, I confess I read the title to Josh’s piece on Monday (Movies. Monday movies.) several times before realizing it was a play on Bond’s iconic introduction of himself. As my eight-year-old self would say, “Uh doy.”

What about you, good reader? Have you postponed your dreams because of their requisite effort? Have your dreams fooled you into thinking you’ve solved a societal problem? Did you weep when you heard Hostess is going out of business?

November 16, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

1 Comment

  1. I confess that I have wealthy relatives who raise funds for the IDF, and the tenability of knowing that and not responding to it in some way is rapidly diminishing.

    I confess that I am not sure where exactly falls the dividing line between the worthiness of individual nuggets from individual TED talks and the utter bullshit of the enterprise in sum.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | November 16, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

