The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Accommodating dogs

I confess that the dog warden in the county where I live (Lucas County, Ohio) has started a program intended to pay for high cost medical procedures for abandoned dogs that are otherwise healthy. This program is named after a little chihuahua who was dropped off at a shelter with two puppies stuck in her birth canal. The surgery and medical care that saved her (but not the pups) cost $1,400. This inspired the initiation of this fund. The confession part of this comes from the fact that I read this and wondered if it was the best use of funds to help dogs. Before you strike up the torches and grab the pitch fork, let me explain.

The thing we always hear from every shelter or dog adoption service is that we need to spay and neuter our dogs. There are just too many dogs out there and most of these services have more dogs than they will ever be able to adopt. So is sinking a huge amount of resources into a small number of dogs who will then need to be adopted out the best approach? I’m not totally sold either way so feel free to chime in to convince me. I have to confess it would not be difficult to convince me to save every dog possible.

This is because I have two dogs that I almost literally cannot imagine living without. Unfortunately, one of the small downsides of having dogs is the fact that there is no easy way to travel when you have them. You either have to make accommodations to leave them behind – either expensive, worrisome or both – or find a dog friendly hotel. The latter is not easy, especially when you have two dogs and especially when one of those dogs weighs 95 pounds.

My wife and I got pretty lucky Thanksgiving weekend when we found a dog friendly hotel near my mother-in-law’s house. They allowed up to two pets of any size (species not specified, so that would be fun to challenge) for a nominal fee per animal. To be more accurate, we thought we got lucky. You see, when we pulled up to this hotel to check in, there was a sign on the door that said it was closed for renovations. While I walked with the dogs to allow them to relieve themselves, my wife went in and tried to sort out this situation.

The woman “working” explained that they had tried to call us (no they didn’t) and tell us we needed to stay at a “sister” hotel that had agreed to take all their reservations. There were several problems with this. It was not close. It was not in a good area. It did not get good reviews. She could not guarantee they allowed dogs.

When my wife asked if they allowed dogs, she was told “they must” because they had agreed to accept all this place’s reservations. That may appear to be sound reasoning, but “they must” is a far cry from “they do”. Plus we were skeptical that sound reasoning was a given when the hotel we were dealing with was accepting reservations while closed. So what’s my confession here? I didn’t handle this in an ideal way. In a short time, I used very bad words to describe Comfort Inn, impatiently dismissed the backup dog-friendly hotel after a small sample of awful customer reviews, yelled at our big dog for trying to climb into my wife’s lap in the front seat and, when I realized we’d be staying at my mother-in-law’s, lamented sharing the same (single) bed my wife used to sleep in when she was a teenager.

I confess it’s kind of douchey of me to complain so much about a fairly minor part of our weekend that was quite enjoyable on the whole. But it was a hotel that accepted reservations while it was closed! Screw you forever, Comfort Inn! How about you, good reader? Surely, you must have snapped at a relative or done something shameful while going out for Black Friday or small business Saturday or staying in for Cyber Monday. Take this opportunity to shrug off your burden.

November 30, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

2 Comments

  1. I confess that I can’t shake the feeling that I’m bad at going to Barcelona for a week.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | November 30, 2012

  2. If at first you don’t succeed, try try again.

    Comment by mattintoledo | November 30, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

