The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Friday Afternoon Confessional: Too jolly

I confess I’m exhausted. On December 15th, my wife and I had our first family Christmas thing. Since then, I’ve gone to two of my nephews’ Christmas concerts, driven three hours to east Ohio (and back), and driven up to metro Detroit for four straight days. There were three or four days in that span when we didn’t have to hustle off somewhere and each was spent doing at least a little Christmas shopping. I don’t regret any of it and have been glad at the opportunity to spend time with family, but it’s certainly left me feeling spent. I wonder if I’d get through this harried time better if I liked Christmas more.

I confess that some number of years ago, when people asked me what I wanted for Christmas, I answered “something that doesn’t take up any space”. This was my answer because we were still renting and we were moving about once a year. I had tired of seeing boxes full of crap that we hadn’t opened since our last move. I only made that request one year, but it seems to have stuck. This year, after I had opened all my gifts at my mom’s house, I realized they probably would have fit in a shoebox. Most of that space was taken up by a jar of pickled eggs and a six pack of a microbrew from the town where I went to college. Neither of which will be taking up space in our refrigerator for very long.

I confess I’ve known my wife for thirteen and a half years and in all that time, I had never once drank enough to make me vomit. Let me rephrase that. In all that time, despite drinking far too much many, many times I had somehow managed to never vomit at the end of the night. Until Saturday. That night, we went out with my brother-in-law who works full-time, is taking classes, and takes on most of the parenting duties for his two girls because his wife – who he may soon divorce – is an unemployed alcoholic who is very likely also combating mental health issues. I detail all that because I’ve always believed that as a friend, when another friend needs to have a drink, you should make arrangements to go out with them and go toe to toe with their drinking while offering a sympathetic ear. On that night, it took about a gallon of beer for him to temporarily get out from under the burdens listed.

The funny thing about my getting sick at the end of the night was my wife defending me. “There must have been something wrong with those chicken wings. I’ve seen him drink a lot more than that before.”

What about you? Did you puke all over somebody’s Christmas cheer? Forget the “true meaning of Christmas”? Snap and tell somebody at Toys ‘R Us to kiss your holly jolly butt? Do share.

December 28, 2012 - Posted by | Friday Afternoon Confessional

11 Comments

  1. I confess I’ve been accused of creating a rule about being a good drinking buddy that is self-serving. I confess this accusation hovers somewhere near the truth.

    Comment by mattintoledo | December 28, 2012

  2. i confess Happy new year! i am exhausted too for this was the last day of work this year… when i was a young doc back home, once my coworkers made me to drink a fine for leaving a party earlier, vodka in a not as we call it junz, a little glass thing to drink it which could contain maybe 20 ml, but in a cup so it was like 100 ml to drink at once maybe, such a too stupid and cruel joke
    so after coming out in the fresh air i didnt remember at all how i got home, was too stupid to vomit it at once after drinking, and i never got drunk before that so did not know how it feels like, but there is a proverb ” sogtuu khun sokhor unkhaantai” – a drunk has his own mind even if it’s a blind mind, so i got home somehow in the morning, what i was doing in between my leaving the party around 7 pm to the morning is a complete mystery for me to this day and after that happening i almost never had any alcohol too, a glass of wine at best, such a strange story to tell for a woman i guess

    Comment by read | December 28, 2012

  3. too stupid to not vomit it out right coming out of the party, i meant

    Comment by read | December 28, 2012

  4. I confess that I feel a keen sense of betrayal to my 12-year-old self at not having seen Les Miz on Christmas Day.

    I confess that among my many ideas for honing my writing identity is a plan to start using the Weblog for what-have-you. I further confess that this does not involve any kind of putsch or power grab, just ignoring the weekly publishing schedule. I further confess that I am ignoring the weekly publishing schedule tomorrow for an early Monday Movies because I wanted to write my review before I started reading other reviews. I confess that Richard Brody and I are on about mostly the same stuff w/r/t Django Unchained.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | December 28, 2012

  5. I suppose the ideal way to phrase confession 2.1 is “would anyone mind if I started posting non-weekly, random blog posts to The Weblog”?

    Comment by Josh K-sky | December 28, 2012

  6. God, no, Josh. As long as you don’t mind me/us doing the same when the spirit possesses us.

    Comment by mattintoledo | December 28, 2012

  7. As in no we don’t mind, of course.

    Comment by mattintoledo | December 28, 2012

  8. i confess i enjoy reading the monday movies, just dont watch any movies lately to comment, but surely one is free to do whatever one would like to do on the internets, so it seems to me
    i wanted to see lincoln on christmas, but it was sold out, now think should have watched that Django movie i guess when i had a chance to watch a movie in the theater

    Comment by read | December 28, 2012

  9. I confess my Xmas week was quite the reverse of Matt’s, it was Zen mixed with good sex. I confess to feeling a little guilty for being on one of the longest happy streaks of my life. I confess I know my wife 22 years now and never once having regretted it.

    Josh, no, we don’t mind. I confess I am actually going to do the book club on Gass’ The Tunnel, so I hope that an opaque review of an opaque book is OK with you too (knowing that It could well go on forever). Would you prefer me to take Tuesday’s for that?

    And, by the by, how is Pi-in-the-Sky coming along?

    Comment by Guido Nius | December 29, 2012

  10. Swimmingly! Indeed, Mrs. K-sky often remarks how she feels like there’s a trout flopping around in her belly. Sadly, they moved the due date up to the 9th (so no more Pi) — and I’m like, I got shit to do those five days.

    Comment by Josh K-sky | December 29, 2012

  11. I’ve got three of them, Josh, and all came before their due dates. In fact, The Wife always gave birth after she made an appointment with her gynecologist. So, don’t despair: Pi may still keep you up with his/her screaming those 5 days ;-)

    Anything to be able to say Ang Lee made a movie about her/him!

    Comment by Guido Nius | December 30, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

