The Weblog

Home for the heteronomous

Tuesday Hatred: Opfer des Intellekts Edition

Adam is going on the market this year, as are several others of my acquaintance, so it’s a good time to revisit an old description of the hateful situation which characterizes the academic job market and indeed the state of academic jobs after one gets one, should one be so lucky. Since I am the sort of self-loathing git who does stuff like this, even while hating himself for it, I’ll give it to you in the, like, original—Jesus.

Das akademische Leben ist also ein wilder Hasard. Wenn junge Gelehrte um Rat fragen kommen wegen Habilitation, so ist die Verantwortung des Zuredens fast nicht zu ertragen. … Aber auch jeden anderen [dh den, der nicht ein Jude ist] muß man auf das Gewissen fragen: Glauben Sie, daß Sie es aushalten, daß Jahr um Jahr Mittelmäßigkeit nach Mittelmäßigkeit über Sie hinaussteigt, ohne innerlich zu verbittern und zu verderben? Dann bekommt man selbstverständlich jedesmal die Antwort: Natürlich, ich lebe nur meinem »Beruf«[.]

And then one begins to laugh, I imagine.

There’s a computer cluster in one of the libraries at Stanford—Meyer. It’s been closed all summer but today, the first day of the new school year, it reöpened. The old iMacs have been replaced with the newest models, all sleek brushed steel-looking things with elegant keyboards. And each and every one of them is running: Windows. I’m not even sure I can work myself up to hating this, since it just seems perverse. That’s expensive hardware; if you just wanted to run Windows (and I can’t seem to discover a dual-boot option for those of us who might not so desire), why not save some bucks?

I hate how hard it is to schedule things without stepping on the toes of other things. For instance, I almost scheduled a workshop meeting for 11/4.

September 23, 2008 - Posted by | Tuesday Hatred

19 Comments

  1. I hate that I can only read in one language, and that haltingly. I hate it when the pain becomes so intense that you can only focus on: it.

    Comment by thegrumpyacademic | September 23, 2008

  2. I believe there is a misprint in the German paragraph — “kommon” should be “kommen.”

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 23, 2008

  3. What are you talking about?

    Comment by ben | September 23, 2008

  4. I hate stealth corrections.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 23, 2008

  5. I hate it when someone tries to start a blog symposium on a topic of compelling contemporary relevance and interest, and no-one else contributes.

    Comment by Dominic Fox | September 23, 2008

  6. I hate it that the days of the great blog symposiums appear to be over. I participated in something at Long Sunday once! It was quite good fun!

    Comment by Dominic Fox | September 23, 2008

  7. The Valve still does book events.

    I hate that Wolfson never links to Tuesday Love anymore.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 23, 2008

  8. The Valve still does book events

    Oh, well, that’s all right then.

    Comment by Dominic Fox | September 23, 2008

  9. There was definitely a time when everybody worth reading in the “blogosphere” (as we called it back then) was younger, thinner and more stylishly miserable.

    Comment by Dominic Fox | September 23, 2008

  10. I’ve suggested doing a reading group at AUFS, something like what I did with the Agamben book, except with people other than me doing some of the work and therefore able to engage in conversation. We were leaning toward something in French not yet translated, but that’s not a requirement.

    Comment by Adam Kotsko | September 23, 2008

  11. Speculative Heresy’s doing really good things at the moment, especially the Laruelle translations (which I’ve not really had time to read – Laruelle is just so head-scratchingly weird – but which are definitely something I want to come back to).

    Comment by Dominic | September 23, 2008

  12. Oh Dominic…I know, I know. I had this great thing on The Drunken Bakers lined up then… term started. And the review of your album! Oh man…I suck. But I’m still stylish, if not miserable, thin or young, if that helps.

    Comment by infinite thought | September 23, 2008

  13. Immeasurably.

    Comment by Dominic | September 23, 2008

  14. I used to make fun of a friend who really liked Rush – he assured me Rush live was like one of the best things ever. I thought he was being ironic because he’s doing a doctorate in composition. I hate that I didn’t believe him.

    Comment by Craig | September 23, 2008

  15. I hate it when someone tries to start a blog symposium on a topic of compelling contemporary relevance and interest, and no-one else contributes.

    Give me time, preferably such time as I am able to move out of bed without howling in pain…

    Comment by Owen | September 24, 2008

  16. At least Owen is thin and miserable (if only from pain). Stylish too, come to think of it. And still (always!) younger than us. I have to say I think I’ve lost a couple of pounds this week, by replacing pork pies with soup and some meals with air. But still, I’ll be 30 in less than a month….noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo….

    Comment by infinite thought | September 24, 2008

  17. I hate that my thinness is apparently directly correlate to my misery. I got unmiserable for a few months there and gained 20 pounds. Misery kicked back in, and the pounds dropped right back off. Maybe it’s because I’ve never actually been young…

    Comment by Marichiweu | September 24, 2008

  18. Anyone can be miserable from pain, given enough of it. I’m looking for existential misery – the sort that takes commitment.

    Joking apart, ouch. And I hope you feel better soon.

    Comment by Dominic | September 24, 2008

  19. My advisor has never been to an AAR meeting and probably won’t ever.

    Comment by rachel | September 24, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.